Page images

Jonathan P. Cushing, A. M., President & Prof. Ment. & Mor. Phil., Rhet., &c.

There are professorships of Mathematics, Languages, and Chemistry.


This institution was founded by the Methodists, in 1831, at Boydton, in Mecklenburgh county, 88 miles SW. of Richmond, and the sum of $50,000 is said to have been raised for it.

John Emory, D. D., President.

Officers Elected.
|Lorenzo Lea, Prin. Prepar. School.

Martin P. Parks, Prof. Math.


This institution, which is situated in the vicinity of Hampden Sidney College, was founded by the Presbyterians. It went into operation in 1824; and on the 1st of January of that year the Rev. John H. Rice, D. D., was inaugurated professor of theology. It has three handsome buildings for the accommodation of the professors and students, a library of 3,000 volumes, and the income of the funds is sufficient to support two professors. The Directors consist of 8 clergymen and 4 laymen of the Synod of Virginia, and 8 clergymen and 4 laymen of the Synod of North Carolina.- Number of students, in 1833, 33: - whole number educated 71.

Faculty in 1833.

Rev. George A. Baxter, D. D., Prof. Christ.

Rev. H. G. Goodrich, D. D., Pr. Orient. Lit.

-, Prof. Church Hist. Elisha Ballentine, Assistant Teacher.


This theological seminary, which is under the care of the diocess of Virginia, is pleasantly situated 3 miles from Alexandria, and 6 from Washington. The building is of brick, 42 feet by 30, three stories high, and will accommodate 30 students. The library contains 2,000 volumes. Rev. Reuel Keith, D. D., Prof. Syst. Divin. Rev. Edward R. Lippitt, Prof. Sac. Lât.


This institution, about 4 miles from Richmond, has been recently established; — had in 1833, 14 students, all preparing for the ministry, and devoting 3 hours 5 days in the week to manual labor.

Annual expenses; — $95. Rev. Robert Ryland, Principal.

Virginia Historical and Philosophical Society; formed in 1832. John Marshall, LL. D., President.




David L. Swain,

William S. Mhoon,
William Hill,

James Grant,

Governor; term expires December, 1834; $2,000

[merged small][ocr errors][merged small][ocr errors][merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small]

Judges of the Superior or Circuit Court.

[ocr errors][merged small][merged small]
[blocks in formation]

Salary. [$2,500

[ocr errors]



Henry Seawell,
Thomas Settle.

The state is divided into six circuits, in which the court is held half yearly in the several counties; so that each judge attends in about ten counties; and he is paid $90 for every court which he holds; in all about $1,800.

Romulus Sanders, Attorney General. John Scott, Solicitor General. A. Troy, Stephen Miller, William J. Alexander, and John L. Bailey, Solicitors.


North Carolina has no system of common or free schools; and nothing has yet been done by the government to promote them. The counties in the state generally contain one or more academies; but the high price of tuition is a great obstacle to a general diffusion of education among the lower orders of the people. The state possesses a Literary Fund arising from bank dividends, entries of vacant lands, &c., amounting, November, 1832, to $88,156.61. The income of this fund when it shall be sufficiently large, is to be appropriated to the support of schools, divided according to the free population.

The Book Establishment of Messrs. Turner and Hughes has done much within a few years past, to diffuse useful knowledge, and promote education in North Carolina. From their extensive book-store, at Raleigh, they have been in the habit of sending forth, throughout the year, useful publications, and especially school-books; and by a system of " "book itinerancy," maintaining a constant communication with all parts of the state.



A school or seminary has been projected by the Episcopalians, intended to be opened at Raleigh in January, 1834, under the dire of the Bishop of North Carolina and a committee. The object institution is to afford a good education at a small expense.


This institution, which is at Chapel Hill, 28 miles WNW. of Ra was founded in 1791, incorporated in 1793, and it first conferred de in 1797. Its funds, a few years since, consisted of $30,000, or $4 in bank stock, 50,000 or 60,000 acres of land, and all escheated pro in the state. It has three college edifices, a good chemical appara library of 1,800 volumes; and the students' libraries contain volumes.

Rev. Joseph Caldwell, D. D., Pres. & Prof. Walker Anderson, Prof. Rhet. & Bel.
Mor. Phil.
-, Prof. Mod. Lang.

Rev. Elisha Mitchell, A.M., Pr. Chem.& Min. De Berniere Hooper, A. B., Tutor.
Rev. Wm. Hooper, LL. D., Pr. Anc. Lang. J. Thompson, A. B., Tutor.
James Phillips, A. M., Pr. Math. & Nat. Ph. Giles Mebane, A. B., Tutor.

Number of regular students, in 1833, 99; irregular students Alumni about 450.

Commencement is on the 4th Thursday in June. Vacations; from commencement, 6 weeks; - 2d, from the 15th of Decem

North Carolina Institute; formed in 1831; meets annually at C Hill at the time of the commencement of the university, and hear tures and addresses on the subject of education. Simmons Jones M. D., President.

ROBERT Y. HAYNE, Governor, elected December, 1832; term of office expires December, 1834, .

Ch. Cotesworth Pinckney, Lieut.-Governor. William Laval, Comp

Th. Lehre, Jun., T

Tandy Walker, Su

The Senate consists of 45 members, elected for four years, one half being chosen biennially. H. Deas, President.

The House of Representatives is composed of 124 members, elected H. L. Pinckney, Speaker.

for two years

The legislature meets annually, at Columbia, on the fourth Monday in November. Pay of members $4,00 a day.

[blocks in formation]

The first free school in South Carolina was established at Charleston in 1712; but the system of free schools throughout the state, was not established till December, 1811, at which time, by an act of the legislature, a number of schools were established in each election district, and placed under the care of commissioners appointed for three years. The act provides that, "where more children shall apply for admission at any school than can be conveniently educated therein, a preference shall always be given to poor orphans and the children of indigent and necessitous parents." The commissioners are also required to make an annual return of the state of the schools to the legislature. In October, 1824, there had been appropriated to the support of the free school system the sum of $441,176.90. The usual annual appropriation is from $37,000 to $38,000; in 1832, it was $37,000. According to the report made to the legislature. Dec., 1832, there were in the state 817 free schools, in which 8,390 children were instructed. From one parish

no returns were received. —" It is believed the system might be improved; but it is highly useful, especially in Charleston and all the villages."


The following list of academies is taken from Mills's "Statistics of South Carolina," (1826,) with the exception of four or five, which have been incorporated since the publication of that work.

[blocks in formation]

In 1795, a charter was granted for a college at Beaufort; a handsome edifice was erected; and "the college fund," according to Mills, "amounts to about $60,000 or $70,000;" but the institution has not assumed a higher form than that of a respectable academy.

A charter was granted for a college at Cambridge, in Abbeville district, in 1785; but it has never gone into operation as a college. With respect to the institution at Winnsborough, it is stated by Mills (1826); "Mount Zion College was established at this place before the war, and received an act of incorporation in 1777. It was formerly in high repute, and conferred degrees — It has gone again into successful operation, and realized considerable funds to enable it to be put upon the most respectable footing." But, as is stated by a correspondent (Sept., 1833), "It has long ceased its operations as a college, and is now merely a respectable academy."


This institution, which is pleasantly situated at Columbia, was incorporated in 1801; but did not go into operation till 1804; and degrees were first conferred in 1807. It has been very liberally patronized by the state; and has two large brick edifices, three stories high, about 210 feet long, and 25 wide; containing rooms for students, recitation-rooms, and a chapel; and other buildings for the officers, the library, philosophical apparatus, &c The whole expense of the college to the state has been more than $420,000; and of this sum the buildings, library, and cabinets cost $154,231. The usual annual appropriation from the state for the current expenses of the college, exclusive of what is appropriated for special purposes, is about $14,000. The philosophical and chemical apparatus, and the cabinet of minerals, are extensive, and the library contains about 10,000 volumes. The buildings have now become much dilapidated.

« PreviousContinue »